18 Nov Arizona Has Toughest DUI Laws in U.S., Study Finds
Drunk driving is against the law in every state in the U.S. Each state, however, has different laws regarding impaired driving and the penalties imposed on those convicted of DUIs.
And, of all of the states in the nation, Arizona has the harshest laws against drunk driving, according to the findings of a recent study. In fact, researchers ranked all of the states in the U.S. according to the severity of their drunk driving laws, and they noted the following as the top 10 states with the harshest DUI laws in the U.S. (as of 2015):
- West Virginia
- Delaware, Georgia, Washington (three-way tie for 9th place).
Arizona DUI Laws at a Glance
Among the reasons that Arizona ranked number one for the strictest DUI laws in the nation included that it has:
- The longest minimum mandatory jail sentence for a first-time DUI conviction – This minimum sentence is 10 days in jail.
- Significant long minimum mandatory jail terms for second DUIs – In these cases, Arizona law requires a minimum jail sentence of 90 days.
- A 7-year look back period, meaning that any DUI conviction incurred within the past 7 years (even if it was in a different state) could be counted against a driver for the purposes of determining when felony charges should be filed.
Other Important Findings from this Study
In analyzing the DUI laws for different states across the U.S., researchers also discovered that:
- The average administrative penalty for a DUI arrest is a 3-month license suspension (at least), and this penalty is generally imposed before the criminal case is resolved. Only 7 states do not automatically impose a license suspension following a DUI arrest.
- Alcohol treatment programs are mandatory elements of DUI penalties in 37 states.
- In 24 states, ignition interlock devices are required after a first DUI (with BACs of 0.08 or greater). While some states only impose IID requirements for higher BACs or for second DUIs, 6 states in the nation never require IIDs following a DUI conviction.
- Red states generally have harsher DUI laws than blue states.
What do you think about this study’s findings? Share your thoughts with us on Facebook & Google+.
Contact a Phoenix Car Accident Lawyer at the Law Office of Richard Langerman
Have you or a loved one been hurt by a drunk driver? Or have you lost a loved one to a deadly drunk driving crash? If so, a Phoenix car accident lawyer at the Law Office of Richard Langerman is here for you, ready to fight for your rights to compensation and justice.
To set up a free, no obligations initial consult with a Phoenix personal injury lawyer, call us today at (602) 240-5525 or send us an email using the contact form at the bottom of this page. From our offices in Phoenix, we provide superior legal services and representation to clients throughout the state of Arizona.